Artful Readers Club Post 1

AKO-LuckDrawRSFrm

 

I recently joined a phenomenal group called Artful Readers Club where I have permission to read the books on my bookshelves that I have accumulated and ignored; create artwork around it and give a brief review. One of the books I have chosen to read is Luck of the Draw by Piers Anthony (2012). It is the latest in the Xanth series that Anthony has written and the very first book I have ever read by him. I was NOT disappointed by his writing. This lighthearted fantasy novel takes an eighty year old man named Bryce from this world to another, XANTH where everything is literal and “punny”. In the process he is given his youth (23 years young) while keeping his maturity and a special power. Bryce is challenged to win the hand in marriage to a young princess sorceress with other contestants. In the process of meeting the princess, he is given a gift. It is a magical notepad. This book was fun to read and stirs the imagination. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys a fantasy.

In the Artful Readers Club, I need to select books from my personal library to read this year, one a month. The titles I have selected are as follows in no particular order: Luck of the Draw by Piers Anthony; 74 Seaside Avenue by Debbie Macomber; The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood; The Law of Attraction by Esther and Jerry Hicks; The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares; The Second Summer of the Sisterhood (Traveling Pants 2) by Ann Brashares; The Art of Intuition by Sophy Burnahm; Raw Art Journaling by Quinn McDonald and Tonia Davenport; Personal Geographies: Explorations in Mixed Media Mapmaking by Jill K. Berry; The Secret by Rhonda Byrne ; The Magic by Rhonda Byrne; and Art Lab for Kids: 52 Creative Adventures in Drawing, Printmaking, Paper, and Mixed Media-for budding artists of all ages by Susan Schwake.

I did do 25 of the 50 Sketches of Christmas (2012) although I only posted 13; I will go back and finish those before Christmas 2013. I believe in the bustle of the holidays I got too swamped to post anymore. I promise to blog more about my art in the weeks to come. I appreciate the readership and comments. I hope you will join me in the Artful Readers Club. Starting in May, I will be having a live creativity art discussion twice a month on Linqto on Sundays around 4 to 6 p.m. Eastern Time. Here is the link: http://www.linqto.com/rooms/docangi I hope you will join me in the fun! You do not need a webcam to in the discussion unless you want to be seen and heard. There is a live chat box. You do, however, need to have the latest Flash update.

.

17 thoughts on “Artful Readers Club Post 1

  1. I’ve been wanting to read “The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants.” Will have to ask you what you think of it after you read it 🙂 Sounds like a fun club! 🙂

  2. What an awesome sounding collection of books Angela!!!…the title that intrigues me the most is Personal Geographies…i look forward to seeing more of your reviews and art 😀 XXX

  3. A delight to read you enjoyed your book! Your drawing of the fantasy world is lovely, especially the ‘dragon’ and the man peering from behind a mountain. You have some interesting books in your to-read list.

  4. FABulous collection of books…I have a few of these sitting on my shelf…(the ever expanding shelf)…fantastical drawing with a great misty background. Looking forward to your May review. Aloha.

  5. I can’t wait to see and read how you review the book by Jill K. Berry. That is one that’s on my wish list.

    But first, I have to commend you for this review and beautiful art page. It really brought the story to life. If only I could read what was on the magical notepad (grin).

    BTW, what is your doctorate/degree in? So very glad to have you on board this artful journey.

    • Thank you all for all the wonderful comments! To answer your question, Bleubeard and Elizabeth, my doctorate degree is in Educational Leadership with an emphasis on policy regarding bullying in schools systems. I have been in the field of education for close to 20 years now (wow, where did the time go). I taught middle school science and high school biology; and, gifted and talented children 3rd graders for a couple years. My role as an artist has often taken a backseat to the practical but I weaved in art education in all my science classes, as well as character education (to help children overcome bullying). I am loving this ARTful Reading experience and can’t wait to dive into more reviews over the weekend. Hugs, Angi (aka Doc Angi).

  6. Super artwork, I see something else each time I take another luck. Glad youe enjoyed the book, thank you for the review.
    Jen x

  7. love the free and spontaneous look of your art piece, even more so now I have read your review. sounds a completely crazy book and therefore one i would probably enjoy lol

  8. Lovely artwork, you have been very clever in the way the horses head appears. The colours blend togther beautifully. Great review to read, love the idea of a magical notepad. 🙂

  9. This sounds like a book I would really enjoy – what a great gift to be given your youth back while retaining the wisdom of your advanced years 🙂 Love your artwork, Especially the dragon.

  10. Pingback: Review: 16 Lighthouse Road | Jennifer Adventures

Leave a Reply

